Bt Toxin

3 Types of GMOs

3 Types of GMOs

Did you know that there are 3 Types of GMOs that are legal here in the United States? As many as 60 to 70 percent of all foods sold in U.S. supermarkets may contain some genetically modified foods, according to Keith and Renee Schneider, assistant professors in the Food Science and Human Nutrition Department of the University of Florida. Soybeans and corn, common ingredients in a number of processed foods, are the most common genetically modified crops in the U.S. But because the Food and Drug Administration considers genetically modified foods to be equivalent to naturally produced foods, these foods are not labeled in any way. 

Here’s some truth about GMOs and how they are used. Also, check out our graphics below. Feel free to share them and spread the knowledge! 

Bt Toxin

Bt Toxin (aka Bacillus Thuringiensis) crops are genetically engineered to have a built-in toxic pesticide and to constantly produce it at all times. When bugs try to eat this GMO crop, they are instantly killed. The most common crops that use Bt Toxin are Corn, Soy, and Cotton. 

Roundup Ready

The crop has been genetically engineered to withstand “Roundup,” which is an herbicide. We can spray them with all the herbicide we want, and the crops just won’t die. Unfortunately, everything else around it does. All insects, all the nutrient-rich weeds, the good bacteria in the soil, etc. It soaks into the plant and does NOT wash off. 

Desired Trait

A desired trait crop is one that does not contain an injected pesticide. Instead, it’s genetically modified for a desired trait. The process has two promoters on either end of it. These promoters’ jobs are to wake genes up to get the desired trait. (A greener apple, for example.) 

So, now that you know all of that The best way to go about avoiding all of the hard chemicals is simply to have an organic non-gmo lifestyle.

LIFE HACK: Your labels tell you everything. According to the example shown, look for the numbers that tell you whether or not it’s conventionally grown or organic.

Conventionally grown produce will have a 4 digit code that starts with a 3 or a 4. The organic stickers will have a 5 digit code starting with 9. By all means stay away from the genetically modified labels that are 5 digits and start with the number 8. Also consuming all natural products and supplements with the most natural ingredients is just as important as eating all natural, non-gmo, organic foods.

We hope you found this informative. If there are any topics you would like more information in regards to health, nutrition, or performance we’d be happy to research it. Here at EarthNutri™ we believe in transparency and educating others to live the best life possible!


Save and share the image below to educate others on the 3 Types of GMOs. 
3 types of gmos labels

Reading next

High Protein Waffles with EarthNutri Chocolate & Vanilla Pure Protein Isolates

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.